Stellar Line-up for First Citizens Sports Awards

The First Citizens Sports Foundation is thrilled to announce the much-anticipated nominees for the upcoming 2023 Sports Awards Gala carded for March 16, 2024 at the Hyatt Regency Trinidad, Port of Spain. This prestigious event will honour the outstanding achievements of over 100 athletes who have demonstrated unparalleled skill, dedication and sportsmanship across various disciplines. Also scheduled to take place at the event will be the induction of awardees into the Sports Hall of Fame for 2024.

Under the theme “More Than Conquerors”, this year’s nominees embody the spirit of resilience, determination and triumph. Whether overcoming adversity, breaking barriers, or inspiring others through their actions, each nominee has left an indelible mark representing Trinidad and Tobago in the world of sports.

Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year

This award is bestowed upon an outstanding male and female athlete who has contributed to the development and recognition of sport, not only in Trinidad and Tobago, but also at an international level.

Successful athletes in this category must:

  • Be a national of Trinidad and Tobago
  • Have been outstanding in their sport at local, regional or international level.
  • Have exceptional performances at national competitions that can be considered outstanding among other national athletes.
  • Produce results that are easily verifiable.
  • Have attained these achievements between January to December of the year under review.
  • Youth nominees must turn 19 after the 31st December of the year under review.

The Jeffrey Stollmeyer Memorial Award

This award is given to a National Governing Sports Body, which has displayed initiatives and made significant improvements, not only in its administration, but also towards the development of its athletes.

The sporting body must have met the following criteria:

  • It must have shown an acceptable degree of efficiency and effectiveness.
  • It must demonstrate a strong sustainable development program.
  • It must have a measurable level of growth within the sport over the period.
  • It must demonstrate sound financial accountability.
  • The measurables of the sporting body must be achieved between January to December of the year under review.
  • It must be compliant in the areas of child protection and anti-doping.

Lystra D. Lewis Memorial Award

 Named after a national sporting icon who achieved international recognition for her administrative competence and promotion of netball beyond national and regional boundaries.

  • This award is presented to the most outstanding Trinidad and Tobago team for the year under review.

2024 Hall of Fame Inductees

2023 Special Olympics Nominees

2023 Youth Nominees

2023 Senior Nominees

Chat Here!