First Citizens Congratulates the Sports Foundation on 60 Years of Passing the Baton as it Gears up for its Awards

Having received the baton almost 2o years ago, the First Citizens Group has been eagerly supporting the work of the Sports Foundation, which accounts for two-thirds of the Group’s 30-year legacy. The indelible marks made by these entities will be celebrated throughout the year, with the 26th March, 2023 slated as the celebration of the First Citizens Sports Awards and Hall of Fame Induction.

“Inspired by History; Creating Legacy” is the mantra of the Sports Foundation as it looks towards the future, supporting the athletes of today and “Passing the Baton” to the next generation with great skill and precision. The committee, chaired by Dr Terry Ali along with other sports experts preside over the affairs of the Foundation, addressing the needs of sports within our country. One of the major areas of the committee’s work is the documenting of our sports history to be made accessible to all stakeholders via an online platform. The committee also seeks to be the voice advocating on behalf of athletes to increase Safeguarding Awareness among administrators, coaches and other sport stakeholders’ potential and raise issues that can impact negatively on the delivery of sport to participants.

The journey of the First Citizens Sports Foundation began in 1962 when a sport enthusiast from the West Indian Tobacco Company (WITCO) called a group of journalists together to weigh in on Trinidad and Tobago athletes’ sporting performance of that year.  In the end, Roger Gibbon, cyclist, was crowned with the title of Sportsman of the Year 1962. Sixty years later, the Sports Foundation has grown and expanded its borders to incorporate numerous Sports Development programmes and the establishment of a Sports Hall of Fame.

Awards Criteria

Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year

This award is bestowed upon an outstanding male and female athlete who has contributed to the development and recognition of sport, not only in Trinidad and Tobago, but also at an international level.

Successful athletes in this category must:

  • Be a national of Trinidad and Tobago
  • Have been outstanding in their sport at local, regional or international level.
  • Have exceptional performances at national competitions that can be considered outstanding among other national athletes.
  • Produce results that are easily verifiable.
  • Have attained these achievements between January to December of the year under review.
  • Youth nominees must turn 19 after the 31st December of the year under review.

The Jeffrey Stollmeyer Memorial Award

This award is given to a National Governing Sports Body, which has displayed initiatives and made significant improvements, not only in its administration, but also towards the development of its athletes.

The sporting body must have met the following criteria:

  • It must have shown an acceptable degree of efficiency and effectiveness.
  • It must demonstrate a strong sustainable development program.
  • It must have a measurable level of growth within the sport over the period.
  • It must demonstrate sound financial accountability.
  • The measurables of the sporting body must be achieved between January to December of the year under review.
  • It must be compliant in the areas of child protection and anti-doping.

Lystra D. Lewis Memorial Award

 Named after a national sporting icon who achieved international recognition for her administrative competence and promotion of netball beyond national and regional boundaries.

  • This award is presented to the most outstanding Trinidad and Tobago team for the year under review.

2022 Youth Nominees

2022 Senior Nominees

2021 Youth Nominees

2021 Senior Nominees

Chat Here!